A regular meeting of the State Lands Commission was held in Room 115 State Building, Los Angeles, California, at 2:15 p.m. on Thursday, September 27, 1956.

Present: John M. Peirce, Chairman Harold J. Powers, Member Robert C. Kirkwood, Member

Staff Members in Attendance:

Rufus W. Putnam, Executive Officer
J. Stuart Watson, Assistant Executive Officer
F. J. Hortig, Mineral Resources Engineer
Kenneth C. Smith, Supervising Land Title Abstractor
Julia T. Stahl, Secretary

Others in Attendance:

Representing the Office of the Attorney General
Wall to Howland, Assistant Attorney General
Jay Shavelson, Deputy Attorney General

Representing the Office of the Lieutenant Governor
Leo Lee

Representing the Office of the State Controller

Howard H. Schmidt, Administrative Adviser

Members of the State Legislature

Allen Miller, Assemblyman
Joseph C. Shell, Assemblyman
Jesse M. Unruh, Assemblyman

Representing the City of Long Beach

R. F. Berbower, Long Beach Harbor Department
Fielding C. Combs

Loren T. Cornish, Long Beach Harbor Department
Murray T. Courson, Board of Harbor Countsioners
Gerald Desmond, Vice Mayor
Charles Hathaway
Bob Hoffmaster, Long Beach Harbor Department
Walhfred Jacobson, City Attorney
Joseph B. Lamb, Assistant City Attorney
Bernard E. McCune, Deputy City Engineer
John R. Mansell, City Auditor
John C. Spence, Jr., Deputy City Attorney
L. A. Wheeler, III, Long Beach Harbor Department

Representing the Long Beach Amusement Co. - Minute Item 13

T. Henry McCasek, Attorney

## Representing Oil and Gas Interests and Drilling Interests

Baus & Ross H. M. Baus

California Drilling Contractors Association Richard Fenton

Continental Oil Company
C. M. Curb

Continental Production Company
Mark R. Corcoran

General Petroleum Corporation W. P. Carver R. E. Friedman George H. Ketchum

Hancock Oil Company Ralph L. Cormany

Humble Oil & Refining Company
Thomas R. Cochran
L. W. Sewell

Monterey Oil Company E. E. Pyles John B. Taylor

The Chio Oil Company Nevins D. Young

Oil & Gas Journal William T. Smith

Edwin W. Pauley
Jack M. Garfinkel

Richfield Oil Corporation Richard C. Bergen K. M. Cook Gordon Goodwin

Santa Fe Drilling Company
J. D. Robinson

Shell Oil Company Donald E. Coye Signal Oil and Gas Company Paul Ottoson Emmet E. Wolter

Standard Oil Company of California Paul K. Home Turner H. McBaine L. E. Scott

The Superior Oil Company Paul A. Lower

The Texas Company Irwin Frazier

Tidewater Oil Company
T. L. Roberts

Union Oil Company of California
Harry D. Aggers
R. F. Bauer
A. J. Field
Sam Grinsfelder
A. Andrew Hauk
Earl M. Welty

Universal Consolidated Cil Company E. G. Starr

Western Gulf Oil Company J. G. Leovy Emmons Sebenius

Western Oil & Gas Association Felix Chappellet

J. A. Smith, representing himself

- 1. UPON MOTION DULY MADE AND UNANIMOUSLY CARRIED, THE MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF AUGUST 15, 1956, WERE CONFIRMED AS WRITTEN AND MAILED TO MEMBERS OF THE COMMISSION.
- 2. THE DATE OF THE NEXT MEETING OF THE COMMISSION WAS LEFT OPEN, THE EXECUTIVE OFFICER SUGGESTING THAT PERHAPS IT COULD BE HELD ABOUT OCTOBER 15, 1956.

The Chairman extended recognition to Assemblyman Allen Miller, Chairman of the Subcommittee of the Assembly Committee on Conservation, Planning and Public Works, and to Assemblymen Joseph C. Shell and Jesse M. Unruh, all of whom are interested in tideland development and related matters, and stated that he was happy to have them present and hoped they would feel free to take part in the discussion.